Saturday, March 9, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 27 - North Dakota State Bison

The Uni Watch Fans (Sports Aesthetics) Facebook page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.

The North Dakota State Bison football program represents North Dakota State University in college football at the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision level and competes in the Missouri Valley Football Conference. The Bison play in the 19,000 seat Fargodome located in Fargo. The Bison have won fifteen national championships and 35 conference championships. They won five-consecutive NCAA Division I FCS National Championships between 2011 and 2015 as well as two more in 2017 and 2018. NDSU is the only college football program to ever win five consecutive NCAA national championships, and the only football program to win seven FCS titles.
Since 2011, the North Dakota State Bison have a record of 112–8 (.933) which included a record 22 game playoff win streak, making them the most successful college football program in Division I this decade. The Bison are 166–35 (.826) since moving to Division I in 2004. Since 1964, the Bison have had only 3 losing seasons and an overall record of 515–137–4 (.788) through that 53-year span, one of the best in all of college football. North Dakota State currently has more all-time program wins than any non-Ivy League FCS program, over 700. Of all teams established after 1894, only Oklahoma has won a higher percentage of its games than NDSU. The team also has the record for the longest winning streak in FCS, which stands at 33 consecutive games spanning from 2012 to 2014. It is also tied for the 3rd longest streak in NCAA football during the past 50 years.
In the final AP Football Poll of the 2013–14 season; after their third consecutive National Championship, North Dakota State finished with 17 votes which ranked them at #29 in all of D-I football, the highest end-of-season ranking of any team in the history of FCS football. After defeating 13th-ranked (FBS) Iowa in 2016, the Bison earned 74 votes and a #27 ranking in the entire D-I field, overtaking their previous record to become the highest-ranked FCS team of all time.

All-Time Record: 725-371-34 (.657)

Special thanks to:

Conference: Missouri Valley
Team: North Dakota State Bison
Founded: 1894
Joined Conference: 2008




2005-2011 Logo 
 2012-Present Logo 



2018 Uniforms

No comments:

Post a Comment