Sunday, March 24, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 42 - North Alabama Lions

The Uni Watch Fans (Sports Aesthetics) Facebook page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.
The North Alabama Lions football team represents the University of North Alabama (UNA) in the NCAA Division I Atlantic Sun Conference for all sports except football, where they are transitioning to the Football Championship Subdivision competing as an Independent for the 2018 season, then as a member of the Atlantic Sun-affiliated Big South Conference beginning in 2019. UNA plays its home games at Braly Municipal Stadium in Florence, Alabama. They are currently coached by Chris Willis. UNA was a member of Division II from 1972 to 2017.
The Lions are distinguished as the only team to win three consecutive football national championships in NCAA Division II. UNA's 27 consecutive weeks at No. 1 in the Division II polls also comprise the longest stretch of consecutive No. 1 rankings in football in NCAA history on any level. UNA is the last Division II team to beat a Division I-A (FBS) team, defeating Southwestern Louisiana (now Louisiana) on October 11, 1997. In 2016, UNA won their fourth consecutive Gulf South Conference championship — a conference record.

All-Time Record: 473-279-16 (.626)

Special thanks to:

Conference: FCS Independent
Team: North Alabama Lions
Founded: 1912


2018 - Honor the 1968 Team Known As Florence State University

No comments:

Post a Comment