Sunday, March 31, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 49 - Delaware Fightin’ Blue Hens

The Uni Watch Fans (Sports Aesthetics) Facebook page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.
The Delaware Fightin' Blue Hens football team represents the University of Delaware in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) college football. The team is currently led by head coach Danny Rocco and plays on Tubby Raymond Field at 22,000-seat Delaware Stadium located in Newark, Delaware. The Fightin' Blue Hens have won six national titles in their 117-year history – 1946 (AP College Division), 1963 (UPI College Division), 1971 (AP/UPI College Division), 1972 (AP/UPI College Division), 1979 (Division II), and 2003 (Division I-AA). They returned to the FCS National Championship game in 2007 and 2010.
The Blue Hens are recognized as a perennial power in FCS football and Delaware was the only FCS program to average more than 20,000 fans per regular-season home game for each season from 1999 to 2010.

All-Time Record: 691–455–44 (.599)

Special thanks to:

Conference: FCS Colonial Athletic Association
Team: Delaware Fightin’ Blue Hens
Founded: 1889
Joined Conference: 2007




1967-1986 Logo




1987-1998 Logo

1999-2008 Logo


2009-Present Logo

Current Uniforms

No comments:

Post a Comment