Sunday, March 10, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 28 - James Madison Dukes

The Uni Watch Fans (Sports Aesthetics) Facebook page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.

The James Madison Dukes football team, founded in 1972, plays at Bridgeforth Stadium and was previously coached by Mike Houston. The JMU football team was rarely the centerpiece of JMU sports until the hiring of prior coach, Mickey Matthews, in 1999.
Notable Dukes include Charles Haley, one of two players to win five Super Bowl rings and is also an inductee of the College Football Hall of Fame and Pro Football Hall of Fame;[2] Scott Norwood, the Buffalo Bills' all-time leading scorer; Gary Clark, an All-Pro wide receiver for the Washington Redskins; and Arthur Moats, a linebacker for the Buffalo Bills and Pittsburgh Steelers who is known for delivering the sack that led to the end of the record streak of consecutive starts made by Brett Favre in the NFL.

All-Time Record: 294-210-4 (.583)

Special thanks to:

Conference: Colonial Athletic Association
Team: James Madison Dukes
Founded: 1972
Joined Conference: 2007




1985-2001 Logo


2002-2012 Logo

2013-2016 Logo








No comments:

Post a Comment