Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 86 - Georgia Southern Eagles

The Sports Aesthetics: A Uni Watch Fans Page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.

The Georgia Southern Eagles football program represents Georgia Southern University in football as part of the Sun Belt Conference under head coach Chad Lunsford. The Eagles have won six FCS (I-AA) national championships and have produced two Walter Payton Award winners. The Eagles first continuously fielded a football team in 1924; however, play was suspended for World War II and revived in 1981. The Eagles competed as an FCS independent from 1984 until 1992 as the Eagles' main conference at the time, the Trans America Athletic Conference (now known as the Atlantic Sun Conference), did not sponsor football, and as a member of the Southern Conference from 1993 until 2013, winning 10 SoCon championships. Georgia Southern joined the Sun Belt Conference upon transitioning to the FBS level in 2014. The Eagles won the Sun Belt Conference championship outright in its first year as an FBS member. Georgia Southern's main Sun Belt rival is Appalachian State.

All-Time Record: 326-142-1 (.696)

Special thanks to:

Conference: Sun Belt
Team: Georgia Southern Eagles
Founded: 1982
Joined Conference: 2014

1982-2003 Logo


2004-2009 Logo



2010-Present Logo







Current Uniforms

No comments:

Post a Comment