Monday, May 13, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 92 - Army Black Knights

The Sports Aesthetics: A Uni Watch Fans Facebook Page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.
The Army Black Knights football team, previously known as the Army Cadets, represents the United States Military Academy in college football. Army is currently a Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) member of the NCAA. The Black Knights currently play home games in Michie Stadium with a capacity of 38,000 at West Point, New York. The Black Knights are coached by Jeff Monken who is in his sixth season as head coach. Army is a three-time national champion, winning the title from 1944-1946.
With the exception of seven seasons (1998–2004) where the team was a member of Conference USA, Army has competed as an independent, meaning that they have no affiliation with any conference. Currently, Army is one of six FBS schools whose football teams do not belong to any conference; the others being BYU, Liberty, New Mexico State, Notre Dame, and UMass. However, all of these schools belong to conferences for all other sports. Army is primarily a member of the Patriot League, BYU is primarily a member of the West Coast Conference, Liberty is in the Atlantic Sun Conference, New Mexico State is in the Western Athletic Conference, Notre Dame is part of the Atlantic Coast Conference, and UMass belongs to the Atlantic 10 Conference.
Three players from Army have won the Heisman Trophy: Doc Blanchard (1945), Glenn Davis (1946), and Pete Dawkins (1958).[2]
The three major service academies—Air Force, Army, and Navy—compete for the Commander-in-Chief's Trophy, which is awarded to the academy that defeats the others in football that year (or retained by the previous winner in the event of a three-way tie). Army has won eight CIC Trophies, most recently in 2018.

All-Time Record:   692-518-51 (.569)

Special thanks to:

Conference: FBS Independent
Team: Army Black Knights
Founded: 1890
Joined Conference: 2005

1946-1973 Logo



1974-1999 Logo


1977-1978; 1983; 2007; 2009-2011



2000-2005 Logo

2006-2014 Logo

2008; 2010; 2013-2014


2010; 2014; 2016-2017




2015-Present Logo





No comments:

Post a Comment