Sunday, May 5, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 84 - Youngstown State Penguins

The Uni Watch Fans (Sports Aesthetics) Facebook page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.
The Youngstown State Penguins football team represents Youngstown State University in college football. Youngstown State currently plays as a member of the NCAA at the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision (formerly known as Division I-AA) and are a member of the Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC). The Penguins have played their home games in Stambaugh Stadium, more commonly called "The Ice Castle," since 1982.
YSU football has been one of the leading programs in NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision, winning four national championships under former head coach Jim Tressel (currently YSU President), which is third behind North Dakota State's seven titles and Georgia Southern's six. Overall, YSU has made 11 playoff appearances since Division I FCS (then Division I-AA) was formed in 1978.

All-Time Record:   426-286-17 (.595)

Special thanks to:

Conference: Missouri Valley
Team: Youngstown State Penguins
Founded: 1938
Joined Conference: 1997

1981-1992 Logo



1989-2001; 2015-Present

1993-2005 Logo

2006-Present Logo



 2018 Uniforms

No comments:

Post a Comment