Sunday, May 26, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 105 - Montana State Bobcats

The Sports Aesthetics: A Uni Watch Fans Page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.

The Montana State Bobcats football program competes in the Big Sky Conference of the NCAA's Division I Football Championship Subdivision for Montana State University. The program began in 1897 and has won three national championships (1956, 1976, and 1984). It is the only college football program in the nation to win national championships on three different levels of competition, NAIA, NCAA Division II, and NCAA Division I-AA (now FCS). The Bobcats have played in 981 games and their all-time record stands at 491–482–32.
The first championship came in Montana State's last season in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, which moved to NAIA in 1952. The national championship was the first ever for the RMAC and was also the first time the NAIA had a football champion. The Bobcats were members of the RMAC from 1917 to 1956, after being an independent from 1897 to 1916. MSC rejoined the NCAA (College Division) in 1957, and had one of its most successful runs as an independent from 1957 to 1962 with six straight winning seasons, including an 8–2 mark in 1957 and 8–1 in 1958. In 1963, Montana State became a charter member of the Big Sky Conference, where it has won two national championships.
Montana State has won 20 conference titles, including 15 in the Big Sky Conference and five in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. The Bobcats have won conference titles in eight of the past nine decades and have won multiple conference titles in seven of the last eight decades. MSU finished the 1926 season undefeated in RMAC conference games, but was not awarded a conference title. They have qualified for the NCAA playoffs eight times, once (1976) as a Division II member and seven times (1984, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2010, 2011, and 2012) as a Division I-AA/FCS member. MSU has been in the post-season twelve times, most recently in 2012. Through the 2016 season, the Bobcats are 12–9–2 in postseason play.
Their primary rival is Montana, whom they meet in the annual Brawl of the Wild, more commonly referred to as the Cat-Griz game.

All-Time Record: 491-482-32 (.504)

Special thanks to:

Conference: Big Sky Conference
Team: Montana State Bobcats
Founded: 1897
Joined Conference: 1963

1960-1978 Logo


1962-1968; 1970; 1976-1981


1984-1990; 2014

1991-1996; 2006


1997-2003 Logo


2004-2012 Logo


2013-Present Logo






Current Uniforms


No comments:

Post a Comment