Monday, July 15, 2019

Celebrating 150 Years of College Football - Day 155 - Temple Owls

The Sports Aesthetics: A Uni Watch Fans Page will be posting a minimum of 1 NCAA Football Team (Division I) a day to celebrate the 150 years of College Football. The teams will begin with the oldest team in their respective conference (Big Ten = Oldest Conference) until all the teams are listed. The team helmets will go back to the early 1960’s and their current logo will be used.

The Temple Owls football team represents Temple University in the sport of college football. The Temple Owls compete in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision as a member of the American Athletic Conference (The American). They play their home games at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

The Owls were a football-only member of the Big East Conference from 1991 until 2004. Temple was expelled from the league due to a lack of commitment to the football program from university officials. Temple played the 2005 and 2006 seasons as an independent before playing in the Mid-American Conference (MAC) from 2007 to 2011. In March 2012, the Owls rejoined the Big East Conference, with football membership beginning in the 2012 season and all other sports beginning conference play in 2013. That same year, the conference was renamed the American Athletic Conference after several basketball-only schools split off to form a new conference that kept the Big East name. Temple is the last original Big East football member still in the American Athletic Conference, as well as the only former original BCS AQ conference team not to be a part of the power 5 conferences of the college football playoff.

All-Time Record: 467-584-52 (.447)

Special thanks to:

Conference: The American
Team: Temple Owls
Founded: 1894
Joined Conference: 2013


1960-1971 Logo





1972-1995 Logo 

1980-1988; 2007-2010

1989-1993; 2004-2006


1996-2016 Logo 








2017-Present Logo



 Current Uniforms

No comments:

Post a Comment